MelanieDawn

January 24, 2010

Pet Therapy

Filed under: Uncategorized — by melaniedawn @ 3:08 pm

It was only recently, when I wrote an article for a friend’s magazine about the effect pets have on stress levels, that I gave a lot of thought to the pros and cons of having a pet in my life. As a child, we always had a lot of cats and dogs, there was always at least one animal in the house.

When I moved out of home ten years ago, I was going into rented accommodation so taking my dog at the time was out of the question, so she stayed with my parents. I ended up renting for seven years, all pet free, and hated not being able to get a cat or dog.

So finally when we bought our house three years ago, I immediately got a cat. Alex was working abroad and my shifts are all over the place so a dog would’ve been too lonely. Cats, once they get fed, generally couldn’t care less if their humans are home or not!

When we got Jake, he’d been kicked by his owner, had a broken leg and a pin in his hip. He was terrified of people but, very slowly and very surely, he started to trust us and settle into our home. It was amazing to see him starting to trust us more and more.

We got a second cat, Molly, before the summer. She was the sweetest cat, had the biggest eyes, and always wanted cuddles. Unfortunately, Molly died suddenly three months later, we don’t know why, I found her one morning. It was heartbreaking. I realised this was the side of having a pet that ten years of being pet free had made me forget. Finding Moll, the shock, the sadness, having to bury her ..  it was a horrible time.

I’ve been weighing up whether to get another cat and while it’s a little soon just now, the good parts of having a pet greatly outweigh the bad. It’s a very good feeling to take an abandoned/abused animal out of a sanctuary and watch it grow in confidence and enjoy it’s life. From a selfish point of view, there’s no nicer way to relax and de-stress than curling up with a pet .. and husband of course

1 Comment »

  1. Aww. Sorry to hear about Molly. That’s the biggest downside to having a pet – either they pass on or you have to move and give them away. It’s never easy on either side. I grew up surrounded by 5 cats and 2 dogs. I have a dog of my own now and it’s sad to think that in about 8 years or so, he won’t be around.

    BUT. It’s nice to have something to come home to. Something that’s happy to see you, doesn’t care if you’re dressed your best or in sweats. The good definitely outweighs the bad. Good luck with your choice to get another kitty. If it were me, I’d say go for it! 😉

    Comment by Aubrey — May 11, 2010 @ 9:04 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

